Forums

Macheist userdata save?

MacHeist Forums » Support Desk » Macheist userdata save?
JPDyson

JPDyson

Moderator

3,573 posts

Huh - neither email address I've used for MacHeist got any of this CS5 spam. Perhaps it's a coincidence.

PM me | Twitter

January 28, 2011 12:59 pm

Jeff_R

Automaton Tech

187 posts

I got the CS5 spam, but it was just to my general email address (which I've also used for MH), so it could be a coincidence.

January 28, 2011 2:33 pm

zehspoon

Urchin

2 posts

This isn't the first leak of an email address given to macheist. I actually switched mine to macheistleaksemailstospammers at my domain. Sadly it is causing me refrain from purchasing anything due to security issues. Off to make another random email address. sad

January 28, 2011 2:33 pm
Warbrain

Warbrain

Moderator

from Chicago
6,969 posts

zehspoon wrote:

This isn't the first leak of an email address given to macheist. I actually switched mine to macheistleaksemailstospammers at my domain. Sadly it is causing me refrain from purchasing anything due to security issues. Off to make another random email address. sad

Again, MacHeist didn't cause the leak.

Website | Twitter
PM me

January 28, 2011 5:54 pm
j3snyder

j3snyder

Big Game Hunter

from Yerington, NV
938 posts

Warbrain wrote:
zehspoon wrote:

This isn't the first leak of an email address given to macheist. I actually switched mine to macheistleaksemailstospammers at my domain. Sadly it is causing me refrain from purchasing anything due to security issues. Off to make another random email address. sad

Again, MacHeist didn't cause the leak.

Sure you didn't cause the link.  As a moderator, you definitively speak for Macheist.  I blame you personally for allowing some hacker to obtain me email address by breaking into a repository of a company you use.  In fact, I think it was YOU who did it.  The real reason we haven't seen MH4 is because you are all just getting back from the vacations you took on the revenue you made selling my personal info.

Referrals for your consideration:
Dropbox:  https://www.dropbox.com/referrals/NTE1N … src=global

January 28, 2011 6:14 pm
Warbrain

Warbrain

Moderator

from Chicago
6,969 posts

j3snyder wrote:
Warbrain wrote:
zehspoon wrote:

This isn't the first leak of an email address given to macheist. I actually switched mine to macheistleaksemailstospammers at my domain. Sadly it is causing me refrain from purchasing anything due to security issues. Off to make another random email address. sad

Again, MacHeist didn't cause the leak.

Sure you didn't cause the link.  As a moderator, you definitively speak for Macheist.  I blame you personally for allowing some hacker to obtain me email address by breaking into a repository of a company you use.  In fact, I think it was YOU who did it.  The real reason we haven't seen MH4 is because you are all just getting back from the vacations you took on the revenue you made selling my personal info.

I'm just reiterating what was stated earlier in this thread by johnred.

Now stop eating up my time; I have blow to snort.

Website | Twitter
PM me

January 28, 2011 10:09 pm
MacHeritage

MacHeritage

Automaton Tech

from British Columbia, Canada
304 posts

Blackbox, I got the same 2 emails today, addressed to the email address I use for MacHeist. None of my other email addresses have received these emails. Mail put them in the spam folder but I thought for sure they were Apple until I thought about it. After throwing them in and out and back in to junk, Mail ended up garbling them up anyway so all I saw was the HTML code. So I thank you for the pictures. smile They did a really good job on making these look authentic that is for certain.

Cracking the heist of a lifetime!
Proud Member of the Former TeamPURPLE: http://www.macheist.co.uk/

January 28, 2011 10:54 pm

CPngN

Urchin

1 posts

I have an email forwarder set up just for Macheist, and I have received this fancy looking CS5 "offer" also.  There is definitely a data leak or hack going on here, and I assume it's from China, given that the links at the bottom point to places like:

h t t p hmm/media .stu.edu. cn/campus/wp-content/bp-themes/index.php?qeosujifonmomn.html

The email is "Resent from:" kakalinafrwtsccbmxx AT windowslive.com
And "From:" Apple <apple-bnuokujxuupa AT hotmail.com>

Time to beef up your security, guys.

January 28, 2011 11:19 pm
Warbrain

Warbrain

Moderator

from Chicago
6,969 posts

CPngN wrote:

I have an email forwarder set up just for Macheist, and I have received this fancy looking CS5 "offer" also.  There is definitely a data leak or hack going on here, and I assume it's from China, given that the links at the bottom point to places like:

h t t p hmm/media .stu.edu. cn/campus/wp-content/bp-themes/index.php?qeosujifonmomn.html

The email is "Resent from:" kakalinafrwtsccbmxx AT windowslive.com
And "From:" Apple <apple-bnuokujxuupa AT hotmail.com>

Time to beef up your security, guys.

Tell that to the company they used.

Website | Twitter
PM me

January 28, 2011 11:46 pm
Miah

Miah

Moderator

3,653 posts

Warbrain wrote:

Tell that to the company they used.

Which by the way, we don't use anymore because of this exact reason.

䷟䷽䷏䷁ — Dying of the Light.

January 29, 2011 1:33 am

rarosalion

Urchin

2 posts

Count me in... I've only ever provided this address to macheist.
(real emails... well, mine, at least... have been changed)

Apparently I can't post the full email headers to this forum (as I haven't been active enough), but the first received line is:

Received: from mail.naihautsui.co.kr [167.167.69.208] by mail.webhostings4u.com with LOCAL; Thu, 27 Jan 2011 23:03:31 +0100

I haven't gone through all the hops to make sure they weren't forged, though.

January 29, 2011 1:48 am

zehspoon

Urchin

2 posts

Miah wrote:
Warbrain wrote:

Tell that to the company they used.

Which by the way, we don't use anymore because of this exact reason.

Was there any reply from icontact or any form of restitution offered due to macheist looking bad?

February 3, 2011 2:26 pm
Miah

Miah

Moderator

3,653 posts

zehspoon wrote:

Was there any reply from icontact or any form of restitution offered due to macheist looking bad?

If there was to MacHeist, I am not privy to such information.

However, I am privy to information from two other groups, both who also had their contacts leaked. The answer for them is no.

In fact, not only was no restitution offered, but the fact that there was a leak wasn't even disseminated to their own customers. Instead, they made a blog post (because clearly everyone must read their blog, right?), leaving all of their customers to wonder if they were the ones hacked.

Based on the response from John at the time and the apparent confusion in the posts before, it seems safe to assume that they too were in the same boat; not at all informed of this issue.

You might notice that at the time this happened, according to John, MacHeist was no longer even a customer of iContact, begging the question as to why they were retaining this information in the first place (and also explaining why Phill and John didn't think to check them right away).

As for iContact's stance on this? Well, look at their blog again and tell me if you find anything related to an apology. Or even a "sorry for the inconvenience".

Basically sounds like they're more interested in keeping this swept under the rug to me.

䷟䷽䷏䷁ — Dying of the Light.

February 3, 2011 3:29 pm
MacHeist Forums » Support Desk » Macheist userdata save?

Become an agent



Keep me posted on more free offers and deals on great Mac software (We'll never sell your email, spam is evil)


As a MacHeist agent you'll be privy to special missions like these, tons of awesome free software, and the best software deals around. What do you want to hear about?

 

Login to MacHeist



As a MacHeist agent you'll be privy to special missions like these, tons of awesome free software, and the best software deals around. What do you want to hear about?